Home Forum Contact Create an Account Sign In Create a Trust

Title insurance at trust termination in Oregon?

Home Forums General EHTrust/EHT Topics and Creative Real Estate Financing Title insurance at trust termination in Oregon?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of lsoasey lsoasey 11 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    lsoasey

I will submit upfront that I am new to the NARS EHT strategy… Please forgive me if this question had been covered previously. I have not found exactly what I’m looking for in the forum search and I also haven’t discovered a clear answer in my success pack manual.

I don’t know if this is unique to the Oregon RE investor community that I happen to belong to, but I can count numerous instances in which the use of land trusts was vigorously discouraged whenever such topics were brought up for discussion. The primary criticism I hear is that title companies in Oregon are extremely reluctant to insure title on a property sold out of a land trust. One representative from a local title company that I spoke to briefly about this topic said the only way they might even consider being involved in this type of transaction is if we file some kind of notice with state identifying all beneficiaries involved in the trust. (This sounds like a UCC-1 filing with the Secretary of State.) Obviously this would defeat the anonymity and privacy features of the land trust. I understand the concept that people who don’t really know about a tool will be the first to say that it can’t work. But in the interest of protecting everyone’s interest in future EHT deals that I hope to make, can someone give me some confidence that one can indeed make this work in Oregon?

Some possible answers that I’ve anticipated: