Home Forum Contact Create an Account Sign In Create a Trust

Referral Fees

This topic contains 21 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of lisafriedman lisafriedman 12 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    lisafriedman

Hello. Newbie here. Investor beneficiary in process of completing my first trust.

There is someone who attened Bill’s seminar with me but did not join the program. He is offering me a lead for a home worth about $320k with a $280k mortgage. He is asking for a $10k referral fee which I think seems a little high. Should I base referral fee on amount of equity in the house or on purchase price? What is range of referral fees that you fine folks out there are paying? Do you work on a flat fee or percentage of equity/sale price and what would that range be? He is not interested in a beneficial interest but would like an upfront fee at time RB moves in.

Thank you in advance for your responses.

areyes

hi lisa,

do you have an RB lined up and ready to go?
    did this person just refer the name only or is it under contract exclusively?
    is this person assigning/wholesaling the contract to you for $10k?

you can pay $500, $1000, .5%, 1% or whatever you want.

$10k is kinda high for a $280k with $40k in equity.

what’s your entry and whats your exit?

ericw

I would “partner” up with him and possibly split everything 50/50 (upfront that is left over after trust set up, contingency fund, and so on, the monthly and the back end). That is AFTER a RB is found and footing the payments.

If he doesn’t want a beneficial interest then only split the front end, though that is dumb on his behalf. Homes aren’t even a dime a thousand around here and can get all the houses I want at will and it is like that in a lot of areas around the country, not sure about yours. If he is willing to split it, work a deal and do it if not find another.

ericw