Home Forum Contact Create an Account Sign In Create a Trust

Investor beneficiary tax deductions

Home Forums General EHTrust/EHT Topics and Creative Real Estate Financing Investor beneficiary tax deductions

This topic contains 5 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of buzzbox buzzbox 10 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    buzzbox
    Participant

If the RB is entitled to loan interest and property tax deductions, so called “active” deductions, and the SB is allowed a depreciation deduction, so called “passive” deduction, are there any deductions available to the IB, either before the SB is taken out, or after if an IB remains?

joecain

Good Morning Dave -

Not sure from your post which exact deductions you believe that you may be entitled to take. I am not a licensed professional tax consultant, but I believe that if you have some business expense being paid out by you along the lines of part of the monthly payment obligation or initial closing cost to set up the Trust, then you should have a conversation with your very own licensed professional tax consultant regarding this deduction and how you can realize this benefit. On the other hand, if you have no expense, what deduction are you looking for?

scott_l._moyes
    Participant

@Buzzbox wrote:

If the RB is entitled to loan interest and property tax deductions, so called “active” deductions, and the SB is allowed a depreciation deduction, so called “passive” deduction, are there any deductions available to the IB, either before the SB is taken out, or after if an IB remains?

There may not specifically be any tax deductions or benefits for an “Investor” Beneficiary but as an Investor, you have many. For example, I not only have an Office, but I also have a Home Office. In addition to the Home Office deductions, all my business related expenses may also become “deductions”.